BREAKING: Anambra people take decision against APGA, vote massively for PDP senatorial candidates

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the three senatorial districts in Anambra state by declaring the former minister of aviation, Senator Stella Adaeze Oduah, winner of the Anambra North senatorial district.
While Mr. Ifeanyi Ubah, the chairman of Capital Oil and Gas and of the Young Progressives Party (YPP) emerged winner of the Anambra South senatorial district.

Also declared winner was Senator Uche Ekwunife of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the Anambra Central Senatorial election held on Feb. 23.

Declaring the result on Monday in Onitsha, the Returning Officer, Prof. Hugh Maduka, said Senator Stella Adaeze Oduah of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) polled 113,989 votes to defeat 20 other candidates.

He said Chief Emmanuel Chinedu Emeka of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) came second with 59,937 votes while Mr. Nelson Onubogu of the All Progressives Congress (APC) emerged third with 11,995 votes.

The Returning Officer said Mr. Chinedu Ekwealor of the Young Progressives Party (YPP) came fourth with 1,024 votes.

He noted that the election went fine except in some areas where ballot boxes and votes were burnt by hoodlums. “The election went fine but there were skirmishes especially the one documented in Oyi Local Government Area where votes were burnt,” he said.

Reacting to her victory, Senator Oduah said her re-election for second tenure was a proof of God’s love for her and her people and promised to sustain her quality representation at the Red Chambers, adding: “it is a duty to further improve the livelihood of the people of my senatorial district.”

She commended INEC on the conduct of the poll, but called for an improvement in the voting process. “The process is evolving and I believe that sometimes in the near future, we are going to perfect the electoral process, especially where we can all vote from wherever we are. “That will be the ultimate for INEC,” Senator Oduah said.

While the result was announced Mr. M.N. Umenweke the returning officer early Monday morning at Uruagu Nnewi North Council Headquarters, Mr. Patrick Ifeanyi Ubah, emerged the first elected senator for the Young Progressives Party (YPP) in Nigeria, beating the Uba brothers, Andy and Chris.

Mr. Ubah polled 87, 081 votes to emerge winner of the Anambra South Senatorial District and his closest rival, Chief Chris Uba of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and younger brother of the incumbent Senator for the area, Senator Andy Uba got 62,462 votes and Chief Nicholas Ukachukwu, candidate of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) scored 51,269 votes while Senator Andy Uba, the incumbent and All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate got 13,245 votes.

Mr. Umenweke, the returning officer, who declared the results, said Mr. Ubah emerged the winner among the 26 candidates, who contested for Anambra South Senatorial District ticket.

“Mr. Patrick Ifeanyi Ubah of the YPP having satisfied the requirements of the law and scored the highest number of votes is hereby declared the winner and returned elected as the senator representing Anambra South,” he said.

Our Correspondent reports that Ubah’s election victory had ended years of domination of the Anambra South Senatorial District by the Uba brothers from Uga in Aguata area of the state.

Senator Ugochukwu Uba most senior brother of Sen. Andy held the Anambra South Senatorial District between 2003 and 2007, while his younger brother and incumbent Senator Andy Uba held the position from 2011 to date.

Meanwhile, Senator Uche Ekwunife of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has been declared winner in the Anambra Central Senatorial election.

Senator Ekwunife, who was at the National Assembly for APGA, between 2010 and 2014, defeated the incumbent, Senator Victor Umeh of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) to emerge winner.

Prof. Charles Ogu, the Senatorial returning officer for the district, said that the PDP candidate polled 18,412 votes ahead of APGA’s 14,403.

The All Progressives Congress (APC) which fielded Mr. Sylvester Okonkwo came third with 1,144 votes. In another result, the PDP also won the House of Representative seat for Anaocha, Dunukofia and Njikoka Federal Constituency as its candidate Mr. Valentine Ayika scored 16,084, while the incumbent, Mr. Dozie Nwankwo of APGA was second with 14, 582 and Mr. Elijah Onyeagba of the APC scored 2, 574 to come third in the contest

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *