Failed federal roads: Warri-Benin, others, read how much Delta plans to spend for rehabilitation


Delta state government has said that it has secured approval from the federal government to repair failed federal roads in the state just as the state executive council has approved the construction of 19 technical schools which will be constructed in three phases.

Briefing journalists on the outcome of the state executive council meeting, commissioner for information, Charles Aniagwu, told journalists that the state has secured approval from the federal government to repair failed sections of Onitsha-Asaba highway, Agbor-Eku highway and the Warri-Sapele-Benin expressway. can report that a drive through Agbor to Eku in Ethiope East local government area is fraught with broken and heavily battered sections of the road as vehicles spend longer hours following the fact that the road has worn out, leaving drivers battling to rescue their vehicles from the muddy road.

The much hit is the Warri-Sapele-Benin highway. This road has caused so much uproar on the social media as drivers have reportedly spend more than five hours navigating through the bad section of the road, while some have permanently abandoned the road preferring to take longer routes to their destinations.

But Aniagwu said having secured the nod of the federal government to go ahead with the repairs, the state will work on the three roads and thereafter apply for refunds from the federal government through the ministry of works. He added that not less than N1billion will be spent for the rehabilitation of the three failed roads.

On the establishment of the 19 technical colleges, he said the colleges will be established in the three senatorial districts, adding that the establishment is in fulfilment of the governor’s promise during the electioneering campaigns to the people of Delta state.

Answering a question on the cost of the technical colleges, Aniagwu said the approval was only made in principles but that the ministry of technical education will come out with cost implication and report back to the state executive council for approval before construction will begin.

He also said 10 internally displaced persons camps will be established but at the moment five have been approved to be established in Ozoro, Kwale, Patani, Ashaka and Asaba.

Commissioner for economic planning, Mr. Barry Gbe, said out of the 19 approved technical colleges, six will be established in 2020 while others will be established in the years following.

He assured journalists that the state government will fund the job creation office, the Asaba capital development agency and the Warri, Uvwie Effurun Development agency for them to function optimally.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *