Governor splashes N900,000 on six schools who emerged victorious in schools quiz competitions

The Anambra state commissioner for basic education, Professor Kate Omenugha, has presented prizes to the winners of the 2019 Governor Willie Obiano’s debate competition.

The presentation which was made on behalf of the state Governor Chief Willie Obiano, took place at the conference room of the ministry of basic education , Awka, the Anambra state capital.

The secondary category, All Hallows Seminary Onitsha, came first and received Three Hundred and Fifty thousand naira, Comprehensive Secondary School Nawfia, took the second position and received Two hundred and fifty thousand naira, while St Charles College Onitsha, came third and received One hundred and fifty thousand naira.

For Primary Section, Handmade Infant Jesus Primary School Awka came first and went home with Three Hundred and Fifty thousand naira.
Mount Olive Primary School Onitsha came second and received Two hundred and fifty thousand naira while Creative Model Primary School Iyiowa Odoekpe took the third position and received One hundred and fifty thousand naira.

Speaking while congratulating the winners, Professor Omenugha said Governor Obiano is so passionate about educational innovation of which schools debate is one of the ways to improve on the speaking ability of all Ndi Anambra school children.

Commissioner Omenugha pointed out that Governor Obiano expects to have a team that is internationally acceptable and announced that the governor has donated a bus and will build a literary and debating hub in the state to enhance schools debating competition.

Speaking in an interview, the Anambra State Debate Coordinator, Mrs. Amaka Anekwe, expressed satisfaction with the performance of the students and expressed optimistic that they will do better to win world debate competition.

Also speaking, the president of a non-governmental organization that championed the competition, Mr. Chigbo Nweke, thanked all those who contributed in making the debate competition a huge success.

Later Master Nwafor Emmanuel on behalf of others thanked Governor Willie Obiano for honoring them and promised to comply with his vision on Education in the state.

The prize presentation ceremony was attending by the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Basic Education Mr. Nwabueze Nwankwo, Director of Education Dr Ray Offor and representatives of the winning schools.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *