See who is replacing Odigie Oyegun as national chairman of the Nigerian ruling APC

Former governor of Edo state, Comrade Adams Oshiomhole, is gearing up to replace his brother, John Odigie Oyegun as the national chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Minister of science and technology, Ogbonaya Onu and Ken Nnamani, former senate president are also in the race to the chairmanship of the Nigerian ruling party.

The party had earlier given a one year extension to the national executives of the party but a statement made by President Muhammadu Buhari during the party’s meeting in Abuja is turning the table against the national executive led by Oyegun.

Oyegun was initially filled joy when the tenure was extended, hence he described those against him as prophets of doom who have been put to shame and disgraced.

But the statement of the president was a rude shock to him and other members of the national and state executives.

In the thinking of Buhari, he said “it is important to talk on the contentious issues of the tenure of our national and state executive officers.

“As we all know, the motion was moved at the last NEC meeting February 27, 2018, to the effect that when the tenure of the current executive expires in June this year, they should be allowed to continue for one year.

“On my own part, I have taken some time to review and seek advice on the resolution and what I have found is that it contravenes our party constitution and the constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

“ In this circumstance, what is expected of us is to conduct fresh election once the tenure of the current executives approaches its end.”

Though Oyegun has the right to recontest, the chances of winning the election are very slim for him.

Following the decision of Buhari, Oshiomhoe enjoying the support of Ahmed Bola Tinubu may likely emerge as national chairman of the party. It must, however, be stated that Oshiomhole and Oyegun are both from Edo.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *